Review – Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

mistborn-covers

As posted in a previous blog post fantasy books are my favourite genre to read about. I love reading those kinds of books and visiting new worlds where I can immerse myself and completely forget about everything for a couple of hours. In the past few years Brandon Sanderson has quickly become one of my favourite, if not my favourite, authors and I always eagerly await his new books. My introduction to Sanderson came through the Wheel of Time where he wrote the last 3 books and after reading that I decided to read some of his work and the first one I picked was “The Final Empire” the first of the Mistborn trilogy. Today I will give my impressions on that trilogy as it is a book I remember with great fondness.

Mistborn is set in the fictional world of Scandrial where. One thousand years before the story begins, the ruler of the Final Empire, the Lord Ruler, gained access to a divine power at what is called the “Well of Ascension” where he is rumoured to have defeated the unknown danger called the “Deepness”. With this power, he remade the world and everything in it into its state at the beginning of the first book. In this world there are people who are able to consume metals or use them to gain powerful abilities. In the Mistborn series we follow the adventures of Vin, a street urchin with powerful magic potential as she joins a band of rebels seeking to the Empire that has been running the world for one thousand years.

mistborn__final_empire__by_brandon_sanderson_by_marcsimonetti-d6xbh4a

Mistborn is an incredible series that captures you basically from the first chapter of the first book. I loved the characters, the setting, the magic… it is a captivating book that is very easy to read. Sanderson is an author that writes books normally with a frenetic pace, and it is very much welcomed. Vin the titular character was for me at the time a refreshing character, I had rarely read such a strong relatable female protagonist on fantasy books and she forever will be one of my favourite characters. This book opened my eyes to the Cosmere and I have been ever since then enthralled by it and devouring all the books.

Perhaps what I enjoyed most about the book was that alongside the evolution of the characters Sanderson was providing us a political revolution in that world, democracy was being considered and the weak were rising against an oppressive state. As a political scientist reading that in fantasy was a breath of fresh air, whilst I do enjoy the old story about someone rising to become a king I have always yearned for a story where they do not follow this trope and where the power goes to the people, all of that in a fantasy setting with magic. This books gave me that (granted not fully but still…) and much more.

mistborn__vin_and_kelsier_by_shilesque-d8smmuc

The Mistborn series has quickly become one of my favourites fantasy books and it will always hold a special place in my heart since it let lead me to Brandon Sanderson and his Cosmere, a universe where magic makes sense and has limitations, a universe where heroes are true heroes that provide us with role models, a universe with rich worlds full of histories and traditions and most importantly a universe where I can travel alongside the characters and forget about my trouble for many hours.

The pace of the series is really good and the sequels it has spun have maintained a great level whilst at the same time expanding on the previous books. I hope those who read this post take the chance to read the Mistborn series, I guarantee that it will not disappoint you. Meanwhile I will be at my place dreaming of being an Allomancer, flying through buildings using my powers and hoping that one day I get to spend more time with Vin.

One thought on “Review – Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

Leave a Reply

