A Love Letter to Logan

Today after I finished work I ran straight to the theatres to see Logan. I have been hyped about this movie for a very long time. People who know me are aware that my greatest love in the comic book world is the X-Men series. I have always loved the stories of the X-men and have a huge collection of comics and figures from the X-Men stories. I relate to most of the characters and my favourite character in comics alongside Spider-Man is Cyclops. Wolverine is a huge part of what makes me love the X-Men and he is without a doubt their most popular member. I am big fan of “Old Man Logan” by Mark Millar and it stands as one of my favourite alternate universe stories of all time. So coming into this movie I was clearly very excited to see the last time Hugh Jackman was going to play this iconic role and I entered the theatre with high expectations.

I was not disappointed. This movie is GREAT. First of all let me say that this movie is great beyond the concept of superhero movies. It is a fantastic wester/comic book movie/standalone film that draws you in with a well-developed story and some of the best performances in a comic book movie. The movie draws inspiration from different comics, not just Old Man Logan and it does so in a great fashion. Anybody who sees this movie will enjoy it. It is a very emotional movie, which delivers high stakes moments where you feel very connected to all the characters, even the new ones. The relation between Charles (Professor X) and Logan is beautiful and X-23 was everything I wanted her to be as she was a ruthless killer but at the same time incredibly vulnerable.

logan-x-23

I felt like the movie captured the tone of Wolverine as a character better than any movie before. The gritty violence that comes with the character, the gruffness that hides his pain and vulnerability and his rough exterior, all of this things are shown perfectly. The movie is not by any means an adaptation of the excellent comic but it does a really good job of replicating the tone of that world. The action scenes were spectacular and I have to highlight the last action scene when Logan goes berserk and fights alongside X23, that scene will remain forever one of my most treasured action superhero scenes.

This movie is not your typical comic book movie but it works perfectly for one simple reason, Wolverine. If there is one mainstream popular comic book character that deserved and could give us a good violent R rated movie it was Wolverine. It is important to realize that for other comic book movies this type of tone and violence will probably not work. Wolverine was created for this type of stories and movies. I enjoyed immensely the movie and the pace of it.

old-man-logan-destacada

It is important to note that this is a standalone movie and it is my opinion that we should not look too much into the continuity of this movie in regards to the previous X-Men movies since this movie takes the liberties in story it needs to take to give us a great story and we should not look beyond that. However in regards to other X-Men movies what it has reminded me is how much I love the X-Men and how great this characters and this universe is.

I can’t recommend enough this movie and I hope that everyone goes to see this excellent, bold movie. I am also once again excited for the X-Men movies but most of all this movie has made me want to read again good X-Men comic book stories and I hope Marvel can deliver this once again.

Wolverine, you magnificent bastard, this was awesome. Thank you for those 137 minutes you gave me. Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart, I will always be thankful for your portrayal and let me say that if this is your last X-Men movie well…what a way to go!

logan610-jpg_2d00_610x0

One thought on “A Love Letter to Logan

Leave a Reply

